2019 GA meeting May 8 in Madrid


The 2018 GA meeting which took place on Thursday 3 May 2018 in Brugge, Belgium saw an increase in attendance from 2017. Hosted by Prince-Erachem, the meeting which lasted 5 hours saw several deliberations related to the last REACH deadline and its consequences thereafter including the possible re-structuring of the consortium.  Some key decisions taken by way of vote are as follows:

Some highlights:

  • Future structure of Mara: A more streamline structure to be established if the organisation is to continue functioning infinitely or in the event of a complete closure its mandate and members to be incorporated within the Mn trade association –The IMnI. Discussions are still on-going  
  • Collaboration: A clearly defined pathway for collaboration between Mara and the IMnI was established
  • Data-sharing Regulation: Approval of the reimbursement structure (to be executed in phases) in accordance with regulation 2016/9
  • Approval of the 2018 workplan and budget


All members of the consortium are able to participate in its decision-making process and overall strategy through attendance and voting at meetings of the consortium assembly. 

Members Assembly: This is the body comprising all the Regular Members of the Consortium, including Associate Members as observers. The Assembly’s powers include but are not limited to approval of the core data and the chemical safety report before joint submission to the ECHA, annual ratification of the strategic programme of the Consortium, and approval of both the annual budget and the annual accounts. The Assembly elects the seven members of the Steering Committee.

Steering Committee: The committee provides strategic guidance on the development of the work plan of the Consortium. It is responsible for advising the Consortium on resources, strategy and policy, and plays the role of referee in cases of disagreement or misunderstanding at the level of the Technical Working Group.

Executive Committee: This is a sub-committee of the Steering Committee and is made up of the Chairman, the Vice-Chairman, the Manager, and a representative from the Secretariat. The Executive Committee will meet from time to time as required to discuss and take action on matters of particular importance and urgency with respect to the day to day functioning of the Consortium.

Consortium Manager: The consortium manager is the main contact point for Regular Members and potential members. Appointed by the Steering Committee, the Consortium Manager, as a member of the Secretariat, has day to day coordination responsibility for all of the Consortium’s activities.

Technical Working Group (TWG): This is established by the Steering Committee and made up of members' representatives. The TWG provides technical guidance on the development of the work plan together with support for the activities of the consortium.

About cookies on our website

Following a revised EU directive on website cookies, each company based, or doing business, in the EU is required to notify users about the cookies used on their website.

Our site uses cookies to improve your experience of certain areas of the site and to allow the use of specific functionality like social media page sharing. You may delete and block all cookies from this site, but as a result parts of the site may not work as intended.

To find out more about what cookies are, which cookies we use on this website and how to delete and block cookies, please see our Which cookies we use page.

Click on the button below to accept the use of cookies on this website (this will prevent the dialogue box from appearing on future visits)